Past Conference Presenters: Dr. Alvaro Pascual-Leone

Dr. Alvaro Pascual-Leone is a Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School, the Director of the Berenson-Allen Center for Noninvasive Brain Stimulation and the Director of the Harvard-Thorndike General Clinical Research Center.

At the 2008 BDL Conference he led a talk entitled “The Plastic Human Brain: Implications for Translational Neuroscience and Education”.  The presentation focused on the mechanisms of brain plasticity at the systems level as they relate to the acquisition of new skills and memories across the lifespan. He also discusses brain plasticity as a ‘double-edge sword’ with consequences that can be adaptive or maladaptive for the individual.  He introduces the concept of modulating or guiding plasticity to promote the optimal behavioral outcome for each individual, and discusses non-invasive brain stimulation methods as a means for guiding plasticity.

Below is a ten minute excerpt from his talk:

3 thoughts on “Past Conference Presenters: Dr. Alvaro Pascual-Leone

  1. I just found out I have ADD. I’m 43 and I only now realize the mess I left in my wake. I never could hold a job and at the moment I make a real small income repairing computers locally, while my wife has a better education level and brings in the main income for our family. I do understand now the mess we are in now is because of my ADD. In my opinion ADD is a blessing if it’s diagnosed. I think I can see into the “real” world from where I would be happy to leave it and return to my “studio” to fly over this crazy world hooked on pheromones.
    Why would I like to have a part of my brain scourged to act “normal”? I think you should leave the brain as it is and regulate activity of certain parts of the brain to be in off-mode when needed. If I would have known about my ADD when I was young, I probably would have created the necessary bi-lateral connections. And already, two weeks after finding out, I have a feeling my brain is restoring/building new links. I also believe that a person diagnosed with ADD can be a great asset to to any society if well supported.
    I like to conclude that ADD is a path of the evolution of mankind that will prove it’s right to be a “better” human.

    With kind regards,

    Eric

  2. I just wanted to comment on the upcoming Brain Development and Learning conference.

    What a program! This has got to be one of the most interesting conference programs that I have seen in many years, and I think that virtually all of it will be of great interesting to pediatric neuropsychologists or anyone who is interested in brain development in children–there is not a single session that I don’t want to attend.

    I am especially interested in seeing Lynne Lawrence, Executive Director of the Association Montessori Internationale, present what is being billed as a tour de force demonstration of the Montessori math curriculum (“from pre-school to pre-calculus”). Definitely not to be missed.

    Extra bonus for being held in Vancouver, BC–one of the most beautiful places in the world. I think I’ll bring my family and spend some time sland hopping after the conference.

    Thanks,

    Steve Hughes

Leave a Reply

