“You Changed a Country”

Here at the DCN Lab we have been receiving emails and blog comments from people who attended the BDL conference in the past, and were really touched by all of them.  We spend a lot of time and energy trying to make the conference a great experience, and it’s always heartening to hear that people have enjoyed it and learned a lot.

We recently received this email from Karin Windt, President of the Dutch ADD Foundation.  Her comments about BDL really resonated with us, and we thought we should share them with all of you.

Here is Karin’s email:

“Dear all,

This blog is a great idea, thank you so much for once again organizing this great event!  First of all I would like to take the opportunity to thank the people at DCN Lab for making me feel so welcome at the last Brain Development and Learning conference. I found out about the conference only two weeks before and you were all a great help in finding a place to stay and giving me pointers as to how to find you and which speakers addressed the topics of my interest. Nevertheless I managed to attend each and every one of them and needed 2 more notebooks (in addition to those you provided). I was only late once!

The BDL conference meant a lot to me, it gave me the confidence to continue my current efforts as president of the ADD Netherlands Foundation and provided me with the information I needed to help those in need. Specifically children with the predominantly inattentive type of ADD who are in school. I won’t forget Laurel & Hardy ever again! I think I even met the speaker but was too overwhelmed by the amount of information to realize. Before the conference, my last days in school were 15 years ago. I forgot how good it feels to receive a certificate. And being a smoker in Canada turned out to be a great challenge by the way. I even lost weight because the food stands in Vancouver only carry healthy foods and spending the first day on Grouse mountain gave me more energy then any spa would.

A lot has happened to me since I met all of you. I wrote another book and organized the 3rd national ADD-day in Amsterdam. 800 people attended and I told them everything that happened in Canada and how nervous I was when Dr. Diamond introduced me to everyone; waiting my for my turn to ask a question, my leg was shaking out of control while my mind had so much to say. I was doing a little dance to prevent others from seeing that and was afraid people would view me as hyperactive while trying to represent the inattentive ADD Foundation. (I never even considered this to be stressful, Dr. Lupien) but I got used to it!

What I would have liked to say is that because of Dr. Adele Diamond and her lab, relatives in Vancouver were diagnosed with the predominantly inattentive type Attention Deficit Disorder early on. The information reached me in Holland in 2004 and I immediately went to see (a few) doctors. So in a major way, Adele Diamond and her lab (you people) are the reason I was diagnosed with ADD my self 7 years ago. I would like to thank her for that. To me and many others, this diagnosis came as a great relief. I knew my brother had ADHD and that my late grandfather (who was a painter) had great trouble sitting still when young but I never heard of ADD before. Most of my relatives moved to Canada years ago. Hyperactive was normal to the rest of us here n Holland…but I was different.

What you may not realize is that in 2004 there was absolutely no information on this topic whatsoever. ADD and ADHD are not the same, no question about it. I wrote an article about ADD on my homepage and with this the foundation was laid for the ADD Netherlands Foundation at www.sadd.nl.

Dr. Diamond made an incredible contribution with her paper on this subject in 2005, it is a must read!!! (http://www.devcogneuro.com/Publications/ADD.pdf) My books in Dutch and English, the first, 2nd and 3rd national ADD-day followed and now I am providing extra training to doctors so that they can learn more about the differences between ADD and ADHD. It is only since 2008 that (little) more information on the predominantly inattentive type appeared on the web. So please know that the work you do at DCN Lab has more than just an impact, you changed a country (although we do have a long way to go).

For those who remember I enjoyed our talks very much! It was an absolute honor to meet you all.

THANK YOU!

Karin”

We can only hope that everyone gets as much out of the BDL conference as Karin did.

Leave a Reply

